Baking bread

The last two weekends I made bread. From scratch. I don’t have a bread machine. I don’t have a high powered Kitchenaid mixer. I just have me.

I will say I think the process would have been relaxing, if I didn’t have a 10 month old tugging at my pants while my hands are covered in dough and I have flour in my eyes.

I used the Better Home & Gardens cookbook as my recipe guide and as someone who doesn’t think of herself as a baker I was pleased with the result. Eventhough its little time consuming, I find this much more worth it. It has always disturbed me that I can buy something, like a loaf of bread for $2, stick it in my pantry and a month later it doesn’t even have mold on it.

I love the simplicity of the indgredients:

active dry yeast
flour (I had white flour to use up but I will be switching to whole wheat)
sugar
butter (I prefer Earth Balance vegan spread)
milk
dash of salt

I’m not worried about the shelf life as we go through a loaf a week anyway. Its safe to say I’ll be making more bread in the future 🙂


The finished product

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Amanda from Independence, MO on July 18, 2011 at 2:41 am

    Keeping your bread in the fridge instead of in the pantry makes it last longer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

